常见问题

Home » 常见问题

1. 问:我听说美国各个州的法律不同,是否在某一个州获得执照的律师只能处理在那个州的案件?

回答:这个问题的答案取决于案件的类型和适用的法律。在我们的三个主要业务领域(移民法,知识产权法和医疗法中,移民法和知识产权法(专利和商标)都是联邦法,只要在美国任何一州获得执照的律师都可以代表客户。医疗法中和美国食品药品管理局(FDA)有关的案件也是联邦法。但是如果是其它类型的医疗法案件,我们目前只能在德克萨斯州法庭代表客户(因为我们只有德克萨斯州执照律师)。当然我们和很多其它州的律师有合作关系,也许能够为您介绍其它州的律师。欢迎来信来电咨询!

2. 问: 美国律师太贵了,我付不起。。。

回答:作为一个主要服务个人和中小公司的律师事务所,我们非常理解客户的感受。我们的客户通常都会把费用作为一项重要的考量,也不喜欢惊人的律师费账单。我们的律师费通常是大型律师事务所的二分之一或三分之一,和同样类型的律师事务所比较也非常有竞争力。我们也会接受非常灵活的付款方式。对大部分的移民和专利申请案件,我们都会采取固定收费,客户通常只需先预付50%的费用。对于其它类型的案件,我们也会事先提供一个大概的律师费范围供客户参考。有些案件我们会提供“不成功不收费”的保证。另外我所的律师每年都会为符合一定条件的客户提供减免律师费甚至完全免费的法律援助。

3. 这个案子太简单了。我是博士,自己完全可以做,干嘛雇律师?

回答:当然,作为一个博士您确实在某一领域中是佼佼者,很多情况下不需要律师也完全可以达到目的。但是在现代社会中术业有专攻。即使我们作为职业律师也无法精通所有的法律。很多情况下如果案件涉及到我们的业务领域之外的法律,我们自己也要寻求其他律师的服务。有的时候自己处理自己的案件会事倍功半,甚至会把事情变得非常复杂,直到不可收拾。人的生命有限,或许您的一种更好的选择是把有限的时间用到自己擅长的事情上去。比方说申请一个学术课题,发表一篇有影响力的文章,或者在医师资格考试中获得高分,为成为住院医打好基础。至于法律方面的事情就请专业人士帮您处理。

4. 我讲究“眼见为实”,你们律师事务所不在我住的城市,能做好我的案子吗?

回答: 我们的律师事务所位于美国第四大城市休斯敦,这里是世界能源之都,也有世界上最大的医学中心。目前我们最多的客户来自于生物医学和石油化工行业。在休斯敦居住的客户当然可以随时上门和我们见面会谈。但是在当今信息社会,面对面的交流对法律服务业来说并不是必须的,很多交流可以通过电话或网上通讯。事实上我们有很多从来没有见过面的客户,他们选择我们的服务是由于我们的口碑和老客户的推荐。能否见面交流并不重要,最关键的是把客户的事情做好。

5. 一个律师通常只能对某一领域精通,你们的业务领域是不是太多了?能保证都做好吗?

回答: 我们是一家为外国职业和商业移民提供量身定做服务的专业律师事务所。通过不断的学习和丰富的法律实践我们获得了足够的经验。我们的目标是为客户在美国定居和发展事业提供一站式服务,可以和客户保持长期合作关系。但是我们并不是每个法律领域的专家。即使是我们的主要业务中,我们也不会精通每个小领域。例如移民法中的政治避难申请或者医疗法中的个人伤害案件。如果有客户来咨询的话,我们都会将客户介绍给在这些方面更专业的律师。我们的原则是只接受自己能够做好的案件。

您还有其它问题吗?欢迎来信来电,我们会及时给您回复!

[contact-form][contact-field label=’您的姓名’ type=’name’ required=’1’/][contact-field label=’您的电子邮件地址’ type=’email’ required=’1’/][contact-field label=’您的电话号码’ type=’url’/][contact-field label=’您的问题’ type=’textarea’ required=’1’/][/contact-form]

Comments & Responses

Comments are closed.

FAQs

Home » FAQs

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. I heard that a lawyer licensed in one state can not work on cases in another state. I live in a college town in Iowa, can you take my case?

It depends on the nature of the cases. In our four major practice areas, immigration law and patent/trademark law are federal laws in nature and a lawyer licensed in any of the 50 states in the U.S. can represent the clients before USCIS or USPTO. For health law, if you are dealing with federal agencies such as FDA, it is not a problem. Otherwise we may only represent you in the Texas courts since currently we only have lawyers licensed in the state of Texas. Anyway, talk to us and we can probably refer your case to an experienced lawyer licensed in the proper state.

2. Lawyers are really expensive, I am not sure whether I can afford it.

At Hao Law, we understand the feeling of our clients since most of our clients are individuals or small-businesses. Budget is often their first and most important concern. Our fees are competitive as compared to big firms and most similar-sized firms. We also offer flexible fee structures. For most immigration cases, the fee is flat and normally the client needs only to pay 50% of the attorney’s fees as a retainer. For patent and health law cases, the fee is based on the actual time we spend, but normally we give an estimation of the total costs during the initial consultation. For some cases, we also offer “no success, no fee” service. Remember, we are an individual/small business-friendly law firm.

3. This case is easy. I am a Ph.D and I can handle it by myself. Why bother hiring a lawyer?

Yes, you are smart and you are a quick learner. Many times things may work out even without representation of a lawyer. However, knowledge is just too much and life is just too short. Even for us as lawyers, we do not know all aspects of laws and have to seek services of other lawyers if it is outside of our expertise. Sometimes the legal matters in your case may become too complicated and are out of your control, then you will realize the importance of efficient and quality legal service. Moreover, why not use your limited time to do something you are more familiar with and get more successes. For example, write a grant or be better-prepared for the USMLE exam. It would be a smart choice to leave the work to the person who have more experience and can handle it more efficiently.

4. I trust more a lawyer I can meet in person and explain my cases in more details. Houston is too far away!

Our firm is located in Houston, the fourth largest city in the U.S. with the largest medical center in the world. So far clients from the Texas Medical Center form our largest client base. Our local clients can take advantage of this and meet us in person to discuss their cases. However, the face-to-face meeting is not necessary in many instances. As a matter of fact we have many clients we have never met in person, they made the hiring decision based on our reputation and referrals from our former clients. In the information era, the face-to-face meeting of clients with their attorneys is not essential anymore. The most important thing is to get the work done.

5. We prefer a lawyer who is specialized in one area of law, your firm seems to provide a lot of services, is not that too many?

We are a boutique firm providing tailored services to professionals and entrepreneurs who would like to face the challenges in another country (either in the U.S. or in China). We know the needs of our clients and have developed enough expertise in their most concerned legal matters on the road to success. We attempt to provide a one-stop service to our clients to establish a long-term attorney-client relationship. Currently our firm have four attorneys who possess different sets of skills and expertise in specific areas of laws. However, we are not experts in every cases involving immigration law, health law or IP law issues. For example, when a potential client would like to apply for green card through asylum or to protect his copyrights in the U.S., we normally refer them to more experienced lawyers in these areas. We only accept those cases that we have ability to handle.

Have more questions? Contact us and we probably have an answer for you.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

 

Comments & Responses

Comments are closed.